Strengthen and Encourage the Brethren 09/05/10

This week’s scripture is from Romans:

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.”

“So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am!  Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!”    (Romans 7:15, 21-25)

How impossible it is to be always righteous in every situation, to maintain righteous thoughts, to keep a pure heart, to act righteously in all circumstances. How imperfect we are and how frustrating that is. Unrighteousness and sin plague us. Thank God we have a righteous King who is perfect and who made a perfect sacrifice for us, who forgives us of all unrighteousness and sin, who sits at the right hand of the Father making intercession for us. We are powerless against sin, but He has overcome, and the blood of Christ Jesus washes us clean. O thank you, Lord.

May the Lord bless you; may Christ’s blood cover you, and may praise be upon your lips.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


